EMS Advisory Council

EMS Advisory Council Meeting Schedule

The North Carolina EMS Advisory Council acts as an advisory body to the Office of Emergency Medical Services. The primary purpose of the Council is to evaluate current state laws, administrative rules, and policies regarding EMS in North Carolina and to make recommendations to the Office of Emergency Medical Services as to changes that might be made to provide the best emergency health care possible to the residents and visitors of North Carolina. The Council meets quarterly, on the second Tuesday of the months of February, May, August, and November.

Council meetings begin at 11:00 am and are currently being held virtually.

Please contact Susan Rogers at 919-855-4698 or email susan.rogers@dhhs.nc.gov with any questions regarding the Advisory Council.

To attend the online meeting of the NC EMS Advisory Council on the scheduled date, follow these instructions:


February 2023 Advisory Council

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

11:00 a.m. 

To join click here.
Webinar number:
2340 920 3819

Webinar password:
Feb2023 (3322023 from phones)

Join by phone

Access code: 234 092 03819

Password from phones: 3322023

Upcoming Meeting dates



Tuesday, February 14, 2023

Tuesday, May 9, 2023

Tuesday, August 8, 2023

Tuesday, November 14, 2023

The NC Office of EMS Advisory Members

NameRepresentingTerm EndsCity
Mr. Jim AlbrightNC Association of EMS Administrators2025Greensboro, NC
Dr. Kim L. Askew*N.C. Medical Society2026Winston-Salem, NC
Dr. William AtkinsonPublic Member2025Raleigh, NC
Mr. Andrew BairdNC House Appointee2023Fuquay-Varina, NC
Mr. Todd S. BakerAmerican Heart Association, N.C. Council2023Wake Forest, NC
Mr. Robert BednarPublic Member2024Colfax, NC
Mr. G. Barry BrittPublic Member2024Seven Lakes, NC
Mr. David GarrisonAmerican Red Cross2023Carthage, NC
Mr. John GrindstaffPublic Member, Air Medical Services2025Weaverville, NC
Mr. Jim GuslerN.C. Senate Appointee2023Chapel Hill, NC
Ms. Viola HarrisN.C. Association of County Commissioners2025Tarboro, NC
Mr. Brian PearceN.C. Hospital Association2025Eastover, NC
Dr. Kimberly McDonaldNC Medical Society2026Raleigh, NC
Dr. Pascal (Osi) UdekwuNC Medical Board2025Raleigh, NC
Dr. R. Darrell Nelson**N.C. College of Emergency Physicians2026Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Robert PoeN.C. Association of Rescue and EMS2024Jefferson, NC
Dr. Roberto PortelaNC Medical Society2025Winterville, NC
Ms. Sarah RivenbarkPublic Member2023Burgaw, NC
Mr. Kevin StaleyPublic Member2024Charlotte, NC
Ms. Gail ShueN.C. Nurses Association2024Concord, NC
Dr. Douglas R. SwansonN.C. College of Emergency Physicians2023Waxhaw, NC
Dr. Jefferson WilliamsN.C. College of Emergency Physicians2023Raleigh, NC
Dr. James Wyatt, IIINC Chapter of the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma 2024 Greensboro, NC

* Advisory Council Chair. Ad Hoc member to both committees
** Advisory Council Vice-Chair